10 Good Things

1- Yesterday I got cast in a show. I will be playing Alan in One Man, Two Guvnors come September. It will pay more almost exactly what I’ve made, to date, in the arts. Not that that’s saying much, but still. It will pay more than a generous grandmother gives for graduation. 

2- Yesterday I got to see the St. Mary’s (I think?) annual talent show. Kids I think in elementary and middle school (though I’m terrible guessing ages) having a talent show. This is the first youth talent show I’ve seen as an adult. The other times I’ve seen talent shows, I’ve felt jealousy, and an intense desire to go up and perform cut with an equally intense fear of being seen. This time, however, I just got to watch. And it was really something to see. Kids going up there on a wing and a prayer, sharing with the whole group a little part of themselves. Basketball tricks, karate moves, magic, songs, prop-heavy  sketches, more songs, poetry. It was beautiful. It was inspiring. It was hilarious. 

3- I left the talent show early to go see a show, Threesome at PCS. I didn’t give myself enough time to get downtown and then find parking, but then there was this parking space a block from the threatre. I made it on time. 

4- Every once in a while, I get a day like the one I had yesterday. 

5- Even though I’m an artist making negligible income, because of Obamacare and my parents I can have therapy. 

6- For the first time in my life, I am in a place where I can admit that I need therapy, and then go about making that happen. 

7- H&M clothes fit my skinny tall body quite well

8- I have a couple auditions on the horizon

9- It is February and it’s 55 degrees out

10- You are reading my blog